CBA Record July-August 2020

Hyman , CBA Treasurer John Sciaccotta , William J. Conlon , CBA Secretary Ray Koenig III , and CBA General Counsel Howard Suskin have developed a com- prehensive list of suggested topics and programming for the new committee. Re-imagining the practice of law in the wake of the pandemic will be a key focus of the new committee through virtual town hall meetings, a member survey, quarterly programs with featured speakers, and much more. Greta Weathersby will head up the Internal Impact and Member Sup- port Team, which will spotlight litigation, public sector, technology, and lawyer gov- ernance issues. An External Committee led by Kathyrn Liss and Jonathan Ama- rilio will focus on eradicating disparities in the profession for women, lawyers of color, LGBTQ, and younger lawyers entering the practice. Look for more information about the new committee and scheduled programming on the Association’s website and e-Bulletin. 2020 CBA Leadership and Board of Managers Maryam Ahmad succeeded Jesse H. Ruiz as the CBA’s new president at the Association’s 147th and first-ever Virtual Annual Meeting on June 25. E. Lynn Grayson moved up to First Vice-President and Ray J. Koenig III will serve another year as the Association’s Secretary. Newly- elected members of the Association’s Executive Committee are: Timothy Tomasik , Second Vice-President, and John Sciaccotta , Treasurer. Outgoing President Jesse Ruiz will remain on the Executive Committee for the new bar year. Newly-elected members of the Board of Managers include: Hon. Charles S. Beach II, Alexis Crawford Douglas, Kathryn C. Liss, Hon. Clare E. McWilliams, JuanMorado Jr., Brandon Peck, Ashely Raphael, Anthonio M. Romanucci , and U.S. Magistrate Judge Maria Valdez . Holdover members of the Board of Man- agers are: Jonathan B. Amarilio, Charles P. Golbert, Michael R. Lufrano, Lauren S. Novak, Judge Nichole C. Patton,


Members of the 2003-04 Board of Managers (from left): CBA General Counsel Steven Pflaum; Treasurer Kevin P. Durkin (2005-2006 CBA President); Secretary Dan Reidy; Immediate Past President Jennifer T. Nijman (2002-03 CBA President); President Michael K. Demetrio; First Vice President Justice Joy V. Cunningham (2004-05 CBA President); Second Vice President Justice Michael B. Hyman (2005-06 CBA President); Terry Murphy; andYLS Chair Daniel Cotter (2014-2015 CBA President).

Justice John Paul Stevens Award Nominations for the Association’s 2020 Justice John Paul Stevens Award are due in early August. The CBA established the award in 2000 to honor lawyers and judges whose careers emulate Justice Stevens’ integrity and commitment to public ser- vice. Justice Stevens was a lifelong member of The Chicago Bar Association. Mail nominations for the 2020 Justice Stevens Award to me at or to Beth McMeen at bmcmeen@chica- by August 10, 2020. CBA Joins as an Amicus in Virginia v. Ferriero (Equal Rights Amendment) – Case 1:20 CV-00242 (DDC) At its meeting on June 5, 2020 the Board of Managers voted unanimously to join as an Amicus in the case of Virginia v.

Ferriero. The Association joins many other organizations in support of the Attorneys General from Virginia, Illinois, and Nevada. Other Amici include: Illi- nois Now; Illinois Federation of Business Women’s Clubs, Inc.; YWCA of Metro- politan Chicago; Women’s Bar Association of Illinois; and American Association of University Women of Illinois. The brief was filed at the end of June by D. Patricia Wallace, the Wallace Law Firm, Virginia, with the law firm of Boies Schiller Flexner serving as co-counsel. New Covid-19 Recovery Committee The Board of Managers approved the formation of a new Covid-19 Recovery Committee at its June 5 meeting. CBA BoardMember Nina Fain , past YLS Chair Carolyn Amadon , Justice Michael B.

Start earning MCLE credit! Visit for a list of upcoming seminars and committee meetings.

20 July/August 2020

Made with FlippingBook Publishing Software