CBA Record July-August 2019

Lend-A-Hand to Youth’s Spring Awards Dinner… Christina M. Tchen , partner, Buckley LLP, and Roberta Kaplan have launched HABIT (Harassment, Accep- tance, Bias and Inclusion Training). Mark A. Flessner , Holland & Knight partner, was named Chicago Corporation Counsel by Mayor Lori Lightfoot… Carrie J. Di Santo , President of CME Group, for her outstanding leadership of the Chicago Bar Foundation… The Legal Assistance Foundation of Chicago has changed its name to Legal Aid Chicago… Brian L. Salvi , Salvi, Schostok & Pritchard, P.C., spoke on civility at the Law Bulletin Media’s Annual Ethics seminar… Carolyn P. Murray and William F. Moore are new associates at Brady, Connolly & Masuda, P.C. … Masah S. SamForay (The Foray Firm, Inc.) and Mariangela (Merili) Seale , partner Riley Safer Holmes & Cancila, LLP are recipients of the National Bar Association’s “40 under 40 Nation’s Best Advocates” award… Perkins Coie LLP received the Center for Disability & Elder Law’s Corporate Partner of the Year Award… Robert P. Cummins was appointed by Janet T. Mills, Governor of Maine, to the state Commission on Indigent Legal Services… David L. Katz , conductor of the Chicago Bar Association’s Symphony Orchestra for 33 years, received the University of Hartford’s 2019 Hartt School Alumni Award for writing and performing his one-man play, “Muse of Fire”… Erin E. Clifford is the new Direc- tor of Marketing and Business Develop- ment for Clifford Law Offices. Francis Patrick Murphy , a partner at Corboy & Demetrio P.C., is a new board member of the Catholic Lawyers Guild of Chicago… Gary Gassman , Tia Ghattas , and Jeremy Glenn , Cozen O’Connor attorneys, were recognized as “Notable Gen X Leaders in Law” by Crain’s Chicago Business… Genc Arifi and Kristina D. Diesner are new associates at Aronberg Goldgehn Davis & Garmisa… David E. Neumeister is a Shareholder at Querrey & Harrow, Ltd… Gabriel A. Fuentes was recently appointed a Magistrate Judge for the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division… Teresa Wilton Harmon was

namedManaging Partner of Sidley Austin’s Chicago office… Jennifer L. Bluestein was named chief talent officer for Perkins Coie LLP… Elizabeth A. Kaveny , Kaveny + Kroll, was a panelist on closing arguments at ITLA’s Trial and PracticeTips seminar… Tara Goff Kamradt , partner at Benesch Friedlander Coplan & Aronoff LLC, participated in the Women’s Initiatives in Law’s 10 anniversary President’s Panel at Latham&Watkins, LLP… Katya C. Fuen- tes was named a partner at Stein & Stein Ltd., and Meredith C. Janes was named an associate at the firm… Sarah Kwon is a new associate at Much Shelist P.C. … Ann M. Lousin , Professor at The John Marshall Law School, received an award from the Illinois State Historical Society for her bicentennial articles published in the Chicago Daily Law Bulletin… Mary C. Smith was named a partner at Fox Roth- schild LLP… Jasmine Morton , Zachary L. Beaver and Andrew G. Fullett are new associates at Chuhak & Tecson, P.C. … Helen M. Schweitz and George S. Stowe are new associates at Benesch Friedlander Coplan & Aronoff LLC… Martha E. Drouet is a new associate at Johnson & Bell Ltd… Sarah F. King , Clifford Law Offices, and sole practitioners David R. Nordwall and Leslie J. Rosen received the Illinois Trial Lawyers Association’s William J. Harte Amicus Volunteer Award. David B. Shiner was named share- holder at Chuhak & Tecson, P.C. … Aron R. Fife and Jennifer S. Tier were promoted to non-equity partners at Boyle Feinberg Sharma, P.C… Christina M. Mares is a new associate at Donohue Brown Mathewson & Smyth LLC… Parveen Kumar Goyal was named Of Counsel at Lavelle Law… Caroline K. Kane and Emily M. Tulloch are new associates at Franczek P.C… Mark B. Goldstein is a new associate at Latimer LeVay Fyock, LLC… Jeremy J. Glenn , managing part- ner at Cozen O’Connor’s Chicago office, was elected a Fellow in the College of Labor and Employment Lawyers…The Association andThe Chicago Bar Founda- tion presented the following awards at the 2019 Pro Bono & Public Service Awards luncheon: Sue Pak of Cabrini Legal Aid

RUBY RECEPTIONISTS Ruby Receptionists is a virtual recep- tionist service dedicated to creat- ing personal connections with every caller—making callers feel special while earning your business. Paired with leading-edge technology, Ruby offers a platform by which law firms can deliver exceptional customer experiences over the phone and grow their practices. Plus, as a member of the Chicago Bar Association, you receive exclusive pricing. Get started today at www.callruby. com/chicagobar or call 866/611-7829 received the Kimball R. Anderson&Karen Gatsis Anderson Public Interest Law Fel- lowship Award; Sherene Awad Jodrey of the Boeing Company received the Exelon Outstanding Corporate Counsel Award; Hon. Cheryl A. Starks , Retired Judge, Circuit Court of Cook County, received the Richard J. Phelan Public Service Award; Steven F. Pflaum of Neal Gerber & Eisenberg, LLP received the Edward J. Lewis ll Pro Bono Service Award; David Pi of Schiff Hardin LLP received the Maurice Weigle Exceptional Young Lawyer Award; Maureen Kieffer of Loyola University Chicago School of Law received the Leon- ard Jay Schrager Award of Excellence; and Lisa Parsons , Legal Council for Health Justice received the Thomas H. Morsch Public Service Award. Condolences To the family and friends of: Everett E. Nicholas ; R. Scott Falk ; Donald X. “DX” Murphy ; Todd L. McLawhorn ; Anthony C. Raccuglia ; Bernard M. Judge ; and Stanley Tigerman .

20 July/August 2019

Made with FlippingBook Annual report