Connective Issues Spring 2018



FOUNDATION NAMED AMONG THE 2018 BEST NONPROFITS TO WORK FOR The Marfan Foundation has been selected as one of the 2018 Best Nonprofits To Work For . The announcement was made by The Nonprofit Times , the leading business publication for nonprofit management. The Foundation ranked #48. “We are excited and honored to be recognized,” said Michael Weamer, the Foundation’s president and CEO. “We have participated in this process the past two years as a way to compare our staff culture to similar organizations in an effort to find ways within our ability to enhance employee satisfaction. I could not be prouder of our staff team as their individual and collective feelings about working for The Marfan Foundation and our extraordinary Marfan and related disorders community resulted in this success.” Professional development, training, communication and confidence in leadership were among the top characteristics across the top 50 organizations. “When our Board of Directors and staff started out several years ago to build on our past and create a great organization for the future, enhancing our credibility within our sector and building a great staff team were two of our key priorities. We are pleased to be moving the needle in both areas,” said Judy Gibaldi, chief operating officer at the Foundation.

The Marfan Foundation is privileged to have an esteemed Professional Advisory Board, which provides medical oversight, and Scientific Advisory Board, which plays a critical role in our research grant program. Here are some of their recent accomplishments.

Professional Advisory Board Dr. Irene Maumenee was honored with the 2017 Laureate Recognition Award by the American Academy of Ophthalmology. The Academy’s highest honor, this award is given annually to a single ophthalmologist for exceptional scientific contributions toward preventing blindness and restoring sight worldwide. Dr. Maumenee, who is the second woman recipient in the award’s history, was chosen from among the Academy’s worldwide community of 32,000 medical doctors. Dr. Joseph Coselli received the 2017 Ray C. Fish Award for Scientific Achievement, recognizing Dr. Coselli’s innovative work in aortic aneurysm surgery. The award, presented annually by the Texas Heart Institute (THI) at Baylor St. Luke’s Medical


Center, recognizes those whose innovations have made significant contributions to cardiovascular medicine and surgery. In addition, Dr. Coselli was inducted into the Baylor College of Medicine’s Alpha Omega Alpha (A Ω A) Medical Honor Society. Dr. Alan Braverman received the 2018 Distinguished Clinician Award from Wash- ington University School of Medicine. Nominated by his peers, Dr. Braverman was recognized for his achievements, talents and dedication. Dr. Paul Sponseller was selected to the Presidential Line of the Scoliosis Research Society. The Scoliosis Research Society is the premier international society aimed at fostering optimal care for all patients with spinal deformities. Dr. Duke Cameron was named president of the American Association for Thoracic Surgery. The American Association for Thoracic Surgery is an international organi- zation of over 1,300 of the world's foremost cardiothoracic surgeons representing 41 countries. Its members have a proven record of distinction within the specialty and have made significant contributions to the care and treatment of cardiothoracic disease throughout the world. Scientific Advisory Board Dr. John A. Elefteriades received an honorary PhD from the University of Liege (Belgium) for contributions to the diagnosis and treatment of thoracic aortic aneurysm disease.

Spring 2018 11

Made with FlippingBook Learn more on our blog