Connective Issues - Fall 2019

Every year at the Annual Conference, we reocognize the volunteers who carry out our mission. The Foundation celebrated three Houston-based doctors with the Leader of Distinction award, for their commitment to the science and education that ad- vances care for our community: Dr. Shaine Morris of Texas Children’s Hospital, Dr. Dianna Milewicz of University of Texas Medical School at Houston, and Dr. Joseph Coselli of Baylor College of Medicine and St. Luke’s Episcopal Hospital. Four recipients whose efforts truly get to the heart of the work we all do for our community were recognized with a Heart of the Matter Award. The recipients were Alan Stoltz , Dr. Irina Volguina , Rod Gray , and Gretchen MacCarrick, MS, CGC . Aven McBride was given the Community Impact Award, for his compassionate support of the Foundation’s efforts, and the Priscilla Ciccariello Award was given to Cathy Bowen for her outstanding service to our community members with vEDS. Patrticia McCabe was honored with the Cheryll Gasner Spirit of Service Award for her significant contributions to our mission with both spirit and passion. Dr. Juan Bowen is the 2019 Antoine Marfan Award recipient for his tireless and compassionate work as a physician and advocate for the Marfan and genetic aortic conditions community. So much of our mission is accomplished by the youth and young adults in our community and three outstanding individuals were recognized for their volunteerism. Brooks Wofford was recognized with the Young Adult Community Award, Cameron Allen , the 2019 Rising Star Award, and Callie Efurd , the Kid with a Heart Award. CONGRATULATIONS p (Clockwise from left) Volunteers from around the country were recognized for their efforts in education, support, and fundraising. Aven McBride, of Houston, who received the Community Impact Award from Hunter Beckholt; Board member Caryn Kauffman presented the Cheryll Gasner Spirit of Service Award to Patricia McCabe, of Washington, DC; Owen Gray presented the Kid with a Heart Award to Callie Efurd, of Houston; Dr. Heidi Connolly, chair of the Professional Advisory Board, presented the Antoine Marfan Award to Dr. Juan Bowen, Mayo Clinic.

Others honored for their contributions in the areas of advocacy, education, fundraising, and volunteerism:

Andrea and Donny Rogers Juliana Sallum Mandy Shaw Dee and Lowell Stephens Matthew Thomas

Gary Moultrup Christy Nath Liam Nelson Barb Neustadt Carole Nowak Sunny Pellone Dawn Pulliam Allison Pullins

Katelyn and Fred Baker Grace Barnhardt Hunter Beckholt Katherine Doehring Kari Dostalik Heather and David Earnhart Bobby Elliott Michelle Gaddie Jeanne Heller-George

Chris Heaney Susan Holderer Anan Jeftenic Damari and Lanieka Jensen Ashley Jones The Kipnis Family Dawn Knowles Sara Koh Brian Kryger and Family Shana Kusin Tony Laughton Li LI

Laura Torode Denzel Wilson Katie Wright

Jennifer Reisinger Joanna Robinson Jon Rodis

Skyler Glassford Jeisha Harrison Dr. Michael Healy


Made with FlippingBook - professional solution for displaying marketing and sales documents online