CBA Record May-June 2021

CBA Annual Meeting The CBA’s 148th Annual Meeting will be held virtually on Thursday, June 24, 2021 at Noon. Outgoing President Maryam Ahmad , Incoming President E. Lynn Grayson , Secretary Ray J. Koenig III , and Treasurer John Sciacotta , among others, will make remarks. Other special virtual elements are also being planned. All mem- bers will receive a link to the online event by email or can check NewVirtual Legal Clinic toHelp Small Business Owners The CBA, the Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce, and the Illinois Small Business Development Center (SBDC) are partner- ing to create a Virtual Legal Clinic for small businesses. CBA members will assist pre-screened small business clients from the Chamber and SBDC during 30-minute appointments. The first clinic was held on April 29. Watch your email to volunteer for future events. Justice JohnPaul Stevens 2021Award Nominations Each year, the Association honors lawyer and judges whose careers best exemplify the integrity, commitment to public service, and distinguished career of the late U.S. Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens. Justice Stevens served as Second Vice- President of the CBA until his appoint- ment to the U.S. Court of appeals for the 7th Circuit in 1970. In December 1975 he was nominated to fill the vacancy of U.S. Supreme Court JusticeWilliamO. Douglas and was sworn in several weeks later. He retired in 2010 after 34 years – making him the third-longest serving justice in the Court’s history. In 2000, The Chicago Bar Association Board of Managers and Justice Stevens’s law clerks established the award that bears his name, which is the highest award presented by the CBA. Nominations for the 2021 Justice John Paul Stevens Award should be submitted by July 31, 2021. Please email them to Sharon Stepan at A date for presentation of the Justice John Paul Stevens Awards will be announced in early fall. MCLE Reporting Deadline Lawyers with last names beginning with the letters N through Z are required to complete their Illinois MCLE credits


Past Young Lawyers Section Chairs met virtually in March with CBA Executive Director Beth McMeen and YLS Chair Jeff Moskowitz to get an update on the Section and select CBA Nominating Committee representatives.

2021 Nominating Committee The 2021 Nominating Committee, chaired by former CBA President Steven Elrod, has completed its work. The following slate of new officers and board members will assume office at the Association’s 148th Virtual Annual Meeting on June 24, 2021. E. Lynn Grayson , Nijman Franzetti LLP, will succeed to the office of President. Timothy S. Tomasik , Tomasik Kotin Kasserman LLC, having served as Second Vice President, will become First Vice President. Ray J. Koenig III , Clark Hill, was selected to serve as Second Vice Presi- dent. Kathryn C. Liss , DePaul University

College of Law, was selected to serve as Sec- retary, and John C. Sciaccotta , Aronberg Goldgehn, was selected to serve as Trea- surer for a second year. Members selected to serve a two-year term on the Board of Managers include: Michael Alkaraki , Leahy & Hoste; Octavio Duran , Duran Law; Robert W. Fioretti , Roth & Fioretti LLC; Malcolm “Skip” Harsch , Ameri- can Bar Association; Risa Lanier , Cook County State’s Attorney’s Office; Patricia McCarthy , LexisNexis; Judge James M. McGing (ret.), Morici Figlioli & Associ- ates; and Sandra Yamate , Institute for Inclusion in the Legal Profession.

18 May/June 2021

Made with FlippingBook flipbook maker